4 Unforgettable Birthday Traditions

Birthday Traditions

As some of you may know, yesterday was my birthday! I turned the big 2-4! Unlike some people (I’m looking at you, husband) I quite enjoy birthdays and think they are something special that should be celebrated, even if I am past my prime birthday enjoying years! This year was the first year that I had Chunker here to celebrate my birthday with me, which had me extra sentimental. While I went through my day, I thought of all the things I had done for me in birthdays past and the things that I want to pass down to my Chunker, in the hopes that he might find them as special as I did.

THE SONG | Every year, my birthday morning usually starts with a phone call. It used to be from one of my grandparents, but now that I’m not at home, it often comes from my mom and then I end up getting one from my grandma later. They call and wake me up first thing in the morning singing “Happy Birthday!” It just starts the whole day off right and puts a huge smile on my face.

THE CAKE | Every year for my birthday since… ever, my grandma has made me a birthday cake. Every year, she asks me if I want a cake to which the answer is always yes! And every year, she asks what kind of cake I would like, and I honestly cannot think of a time that I haven’t told her I want her better-than-everyone-else’s-world-famous-no-you-can’t-have-the-recipe red velvet cake. It is seriously magical, y’all. I look forward to my birthday every single year so I can have one of these bad boys all to myself. If you’re lucky, I might share, but don’t count on it.

THE PARTY | Every year when I was a kid, I had not one, but two birthday parties. That’s right, two! I don’t know if that’s normal for kids, but I absolutely loved it. I always had a family party and then a friends party. At the family party, all of my family and closer adult family-friends would come to the house and we would do the normal cake and presents kind of thing. Then, on another night, I would have friends over or we would all go do something or whatever I deemed necessary that year. If I’m being honest, I made my family endure family parties for far too long, but I guess I figured I was worth it!

THE OUTING| Almost every year, my paternal grandma took me out for my birthday to a local fancy restaurant. Ya know, the kind of place that has really great food but costs a little too much so you only get to go once – maybe twice – a year and when you do go it is mostly adults. When I was a kid, I thought that was the coolest thing! Plus, it was almost an hour drive from where we lived, so I have some fantastic memories of the car ride there and back and the conversations we would have. It was such a fantastic experience all the way around.

I had some pretty awesome birthdays when I was a kid, and continue to love to celebrate them every single year. Your birthday only comes around once a year and is the only day that you get to call yours, so I think you should celebrate it as much as you possibly can. I am so thankful that my family felt the same way and let my day shine for me. I hope that as Chunker gets older I can do the same for him on his special day.

Do you have any awesome birthday traditions? I’m sure you do! Comment below and let me know how celebrate! Who knows, maybe we will have to incorporate your traditions into our lives, as well!
Laura

4 thoughts on “4 Unforgettable Birthday Traditions”

  1. I love this and I love birthdays! When ever I ask my husband what he wants to do for his birthday he always says my family don’t really celebrate birthdays. What?! For me birthdays have always been about having all of your favourite things: favourite breakfast, favourite album in the car, watch your favourite movie. And then seeing your family and friends at the weekend, usually having a meal out. I can’t wait to make birthdays really special for my little man ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I didn’t even think of that one! My mom always made me my favorite supper. It’s just a special time to celebrate being the person you are! It makes me sad not everyone feels that way!

      Like

  2. Birthdays seem to be a bit harder once you have kids, lol. We have three, five and under so it’s hard to get away. We still usually end up cooking a couple of nice meals and have cake…and most often a movie after the kids are in bed. My husband is great about sending me off somewhere for a few hours too, which is awesome! For the kids, they usually get spoiled with their favorite foods, balloons, and a small gift on their birthday then we have a small party on the weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

