Today, I Hold You.

I sit and watch your chest rise and fall, and
today, I hold you.
You snore and you wiggle and you sigh and you flail, and
today, I hold you.
You stretch and you stretch and you take my hand, and
today, I hold you.
I whisper in your ear and stroke your hair, and
today, I hold you.
I count your fingers and count your toes, and
today, I hold you.
I forget all the laundry and dishes and chores, and
today, I hold you.
I forget all my stress and worry and fears, and
today, I hold you.
I wonder what our futures hold, and
today, I hold you.
I dream of what kind of man you will be, and
today, I hold you.
I know someday I won’t get to, so
today, I hold you.

21198531_10154826826606186_1135575531_oCopy of Laura.png

13 thoughts on “Today, I Hold You.”

  1. OMG! I love this so much. I was good up until the last line. That last line got me, it pulled on my heart strings. My son is about to be 9 years old and I am so grateful that he still likes to hug and cuddle with me. I hope that doesn’t change, at least the hugs, anyways. I wish you and your little one all the joy and happiness in life. They are so precious and you will have so many amazing moments. I am so excited for you! πŸ™‚ – Laila

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so beautiful. It’s a very nice and sweet poem, without being cheesy. I love it. And when your baby will get older and be able to read, will love it too. Such a wonderful mum!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

